Stage 19 - 126,5 km - Mountain - Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne > Tignes

For this year's Tour de France we've teamed up with The Velocast to share with you their nominated Conquistador of the Day. During their daily stage review podcast, Scott and John will announce the rider who they feel deserves a special mention for their efforts that day.


Dramatic scenes on Stage 19. Just as the race appeared to be reaching a crescendo, race director Christian Prudhomme made the huge call to neutralise the stage, meaning Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe lost the yellow jersey to Colombian Egan Bernal of Team INEOS. For his courage in making this huge call, and protecting the safety of the riders, Christian Prudhomme is the Velocast Conquistador of the Day. Here's what John Galloway had to say in today's Velocast daily podcast:


Christian Prodhomme ASO Stage 19 Le Tour de France 2019

Photo credit: ASO / Olivier CHABE


"I'm going for Christian Prudhomme because, as the Australians might say, "what a pair of swingers". I mean seriously, the nuts on that man to have the courage to make that call today, in the interests of the sport. What else is he going to do? Christian Prudhomme made a bold choice today. It ould have been so easy for him to try and fudge it. But he had a limited amount of time and he and his team made the right choice.


Photo credit: Eurosport


As far as riders are concerned - it would be one of the usual suspects. But I'm at a loss. My brain has not fully wrapped itself around what has happened today so I think we have to choose the organisers for the simple reason that they had the courage to make the best decision in the interests of rider safety."



Photo credit: A.S.O./Alex BROADWAY



Egan Bernal passed first at col d’Iseran where the times of stage 19 were eventually taken as stormy conditions put the race to a halt because of huge amounts of hail on the road in the downhill. He was declared the winner and became the third Colombian to take the yellow jersey after Victor Hugo Peña in 2003 and Fernando Gaviria last year. Julian Alaphilippe is second. Thibaut Pinot has abandoned.


Photo credit: A.S.O./Alex BROADWAY


Nibali in a 29-man leading group

156 riders started stage 19 in Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne. After 4km of racing and a demanding uphill start, Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), Pello Bilbao (Astana), Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) and Jesus Herrada (Cofidis) on the day of his 29th birthday rode away. The front part of the peloton remained very active. The leading quartet was caught at km 35 by a group that escaped from the main bunch while Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) was in distress. Hampered by a left knee injury, the Frenchman who was fifth on GC had no choice but pull out at km 36. 29 riders formed the front group after 50km of racing: Dylan van Baarle (Ineos), Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hasngrohe), Tony Gallopin (AG2R-La Mondiale), Vincenzo Nibali and Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Merida), Sébastien Reichenbach (Groupama-FDJ), Alejandro Valverde, Marc Soler and Andrey Amador (Movistar), Pello Bilbao, Gorka Izagirre, Magnus Cort and Alexey Lutsenko (Astana), Laurens De Plus (Jumbo-Visma), Rigoberto Uran, Alberto Bettiol and Michael Woods (EF Education First), Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), Dan Martin and Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates), Giulio Ciccone and Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo), Michael Matthews (Sunweb), Jesus Herrada (Cofidis), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal), Guillaume Martin (Wanty-Groupe Gobert), Roman Kreuziger (Dimension Data), Warren Barguil and Elie Gesbert (Arkéa-Samsic).


Photo credit: A.S.O./Alex BROADWAY


Egan Bernal first at col d’Iseran

Team Ineos led the peloton strongly until AG2R-La Mondiale took over at the bottom of the col d’Iseran while the time difference was 1’40’’ after a maximum gap of two minutes had been recorded at km 60. Geraint Thomas attacked with 6.5km to go. It was the beginning of the assault to the yellow jersey. Barguil soloed at the front for a little while until Egan Bernal rode across to him 4.5km before the summit, followed by Nibali, S. Yates and Uran. Bernal dropped his opponents one by one to reach the top alone in the lead.


Photo credit: A.S.O./Alex BROADWAY


Storm in the downhill, race over prematurely

Because of a sudden storm, the road was impassable at km 112 in the downhill leading to Tignes. Huge amounts of nail and mass of rubble made it impossible for the race to continue. The times were taken at col d’Iseran. Therefore, Bernal who crested it first 2’07’’ before Alaphilipe is the new leader of the Tour de France with two days to go with an advantage of 45’’ over the Frenchman and 1’3’’ over Thomas. There is no stage winner for stage 19.




Conquistadors of the Day - Tour de France 2019

Stage 01 - Greg Van Avermaet (CCC Team)

Stage 02 - Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)

Stage 03 - Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck - Quick-Step)

Stage 04 - Michael Mørkøv (Deceuninck - Quick-Step)

Stage 05 - Marcus Burghardt (BORA - hansgrohe)

Stage 06 - Geraint Thomas (Team INEOS)

Stage 07 - Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jumbo - Visma)

Stage 08 - Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal)

Stage 09 - Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott)

Stage 10 - Luke Rowe  (Team INEOS)

Stage 11 - Peter Sagan (BORA - hansgrohe)

Stage 12 - Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)

Stage 13 - Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck - Quick-Step)

Stage 14 - David Gaudu (Groupama - FDJ)

Stage 15 - Thibault Pinot (Groupama - FDJ)

Stage 16 - Maxime Monfort of (Lotto-Soudal) 

Stage 17 - Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)

Stage 18 - Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck - Quick-Step)

Stage 19 - Christian Proudhomme (ASO)


For the daily podcast from Le Tour and more visit

Conquista issue 21 - available now.

Share this post